Presentation Series

Jazzy News Feed

Update 7-25-17

§ This past weekend we retired BJS Member Card BJS-0019 (Jim Lelko). Jim was one of the original members for the BJS going back to 2005. His input on Jazz Saxophones was always interesting and appericated. He also donated to the Main Raffle many times over. Jim will be truly missed in the weeks and months to come.

§ New BJS Membership Cards were issued this week to celebrate the 150th Member, Kasia. You can read the new article on the website to learn more.

Update 7-15-17

§ In honor of our 150th BJS Member, Kasia, we will be having a special Member's Only Raffle for those in attendance on Thursday, July 20th. Other surprizes to be announced. This is a major milestone for the BJS since the Membership went Active back in November 2007. The last milestone was our 100th BJS Members, which was Stuart Sawa, who used to attend the meetings way back when in the Cozy Cottage.

Update 7-01-17

§ As seen on Sawa's Old Warsaw website... Happy Birthday to Marc on the 4th of July! Any text, emails, or cards that wish Marc a Happy Birthday will get that Member 4 lines of tickets in reserve for the Main Raffle. This offer is good until July 30th.

§ This month we welcome two new BJS Members... Robert Jourdan (BJS-0149) and Kasia Sakowicz (BJS-0150).

§ Tickets are still available for the August 31st Field Trip. Sign up early to ensure your seat will be confirmed.

Update 6-15-17

§ This month we welcome our newest Member Art Pudark (BJS-0148) to the group.

§ Please take the time to read about the August 31st BJS Field Trip event. We need to fill up the 39-passenger in order to make the trip a succcess.

§ This month we say goodbye to the Polish Princess and server Beata as she moves up north during the summer. Beata has been the official server of the BJS since we moved to Sawa's Old Warsaw in July 2014. We also want to say hello to our new server Kasia, who will be taking care of us from now on.

Update 5-30-17

♥ Happy Memorial Day Weekend.

♥ We would like to welcome our newest member Michael Klayman (BJS-0147) to the group. He showed up to 5 regular meetings over the past few months and was awarded his Name Badge and Membership Card this past week. Welcome to the club!

♥ The Hello Pineapple results have been updated for Round 5 (May). Due to the live jazz event on June 1st, the prizes will be not given out until the following week on June 8th. Winners must show up that week to claim their prize.

Jazz in Review: The Beginning

The Brookfield Jazz Society (BJS) held their first meeting in the lower level of the Brookfield Village Hall on a Thursday in March. There were only 15 people in attendance to listen to Ian's first Jazz Presentation. Just six months later the very first Live Jazz Event took place in the Cozy Cottage at the Irish Times Pub. After that the BJS quickly grew with more people in attendance, attracting more membership and many more bands to perform, some more than once, for the attentive audience. Ten years later there were over 370 presentations, over a dozen special events, and over 130 live jazz events.

Read more...

Jazz in Review: Part 1

Presentation Details

Date: April 23rd, 2015
Media: DVD Video Production
Style: Epic
Presenter: Marc

The Brookfield Jazz Society featured an Epic Presentation titled "Jazz in Review: Part 1", which highlighted the music from live jazz events held over the first 10 Years of Supporting Jazz in Brookfield and the surrounding area. The video DVD presentation offered select music tracks from the performers and groups (see list below) that have entertained audiences starting in October 2005 through April 2009, which was the 50th live jazz event. Accompanying the audio tracks were informational slides that highlight certain presentations and special events held by the Brookfield Jazz Society over the same time period. Added to the mix were some Fun Facts about the BJS that impressed audience members.

Read more...


Today's Date:


The Jazz Room

Click the image to read the article from Sawa's Old Warsaw website (opens in new browser)

BJS Login

This section is reserved
for BJS Members only


Please Click Here to learn about BJS Membership. Thanks for your support.